(Treaty 1 Territory/Winnipeg, MB) – December 9-11, 2014, First Nations leadership from across Canada met in Winnipeg, MB, for the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) Special Chiefs’ Assembly. The election for National Chief was held on December 10, the second day of the Assembly. The political leadership of the Union of BC Indian Chiefs, First Nations Summit and the BC Assembly of First Nations, collectively the First Nations Leadership Council, wish to congratulate newly elected AFN National Chief, Perry Bellegarde. National Chief Bellegarde, formerly Regional Chief with the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations, is from Little Black Bear First Nation. He received 63% of the vote and was declared AFN National Chief on the first ballot.

The First Nations Leadership Council expresses their appreciation to the other candidates for National Chief, Ghislain Picard (Regional Chief, Quebec and Labrador) and Leon Jourdain (former Grand Chief, Treaty 3) for their courage and commitment to running in the election for National Chief and for the contributions both leaders have already made to improvements in the lives of First Nations peoples in their own communities and regions and indeed across Canada.