Grand Chief Edward John (Akile Ch’oh), Dave Porter and Chief Judith Sayers (Kekinusuqs), have been elected to the First Nations Summit Task Group by leaders representing First Nations currently engaged in treaty negotiations in BC.

The First Nations Summit Task Group is the political executive of the First Nations Summit, which speaks on behalf of those First Nations involved in the treaty negotiation process in British Columbia.

Chief John, a hereditary Grand Chief of the Tl’azt’en Nation, will be serving his seventh term as a member of the Summit’s Political Executive. Chief John was a member of the tripartite British Columbia Claims Task Force in the early 1990’s which recommended the establishment of the independent BC Treaty Commission to facilitate treaty negotiations.