Grand Chief Edward John, Dave Porter and Chief Doug Kelly have been elected to the First Nations Summit Task Group by leaders representing First Nations currently engaged in treaty negotiations in BC.

The First Nations Summit Task Group is the political executive of the First Nations Summit, which speaks on behalf of those First Nations involved in the treaty negotiation process in British Columbia.

Chief John, a hereditary Grand Chief of the Tl’azt’en Nation, will be serving his sixth term as a member of the Summit’s Political Executive. Chief John was a member of the tripartite British Columbia Claims Task Force in the early 90’s which recommended the establishment of the independent BC Treaty Commission to facilitate treaty negotiations.

To read more, click here