FIRST NATIONS SUMMIT

## **News Release**

## First Nations Summit Elects New Executive

## *For Immediate Release June 10, 2010*

Coast Salish Territory/Vancouver – Grand Chief Edward John (Akile Ch'oh), Dan Smith (Haliakalas) and Chief Doug White III (Kwalasultan) have been elected to the First Nations Summit Task Group (political executive) by leaders representing First Nations currently engaged in treaty negotiations in BC.

The First Nations Summit political executive speaks on behalf of those First Nations involved in the treaty negotiation process in British Columbia.

Chief John, a hereditary Grand Chief of the Tl'azt'en Nation, will be serving his ninth term as a member of the Summit's political executive. He has represented and advocated for First Nations/Indigenous interests on the provincial, national and international stage for more than 30 years. Chief John was also recently appointed by the President of the United Nations Economic and Social Council as an Indigenous Member of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) for North America for the term 2011-2013.

Dan Smith is a member of the Campbell River Indian Band of the Laich-Kwil-Tach Nation. He has more than 40 years experience in working with First Nations, Aboriginal organizations and the federal government. His past experience includes serving terms as Vice President of the Native Council of Canada, President of the United Native Nations, member of the BC Human Rights Commission, as well as numerous other boards and committees. Mr. Smith will be serving his second term on the First Nations Summit political executive.

Chief White, elected Chief of the Snuneymuxw First Nation in Nanaimo, will be serving his first term on the First Nations Summit political executive. He has a B.A. in First Nations Studies (with distinction) from Vancouver Island University and an LL.B. from the University of Victoria. He has been a frequent lecturer at universities on legal issues regarding Aboriginal peoples and is a practicing lawyer. Chief White is a director and past president of the Snuneymuxw First Nation Economic Development Corporation, a member of the University of Victoria's School of Public Administration's Advisory Board, and a past executive member of the Indigenous Bar Association of Canada.

Leah George-Wilson (Sisi-ya-ama) of the Tsleil-Waututh Nation and Ray Harris (Shulqwilum) of the Chemainus First Nation were also acclaimed as Co-Chairs of the First Nations Summit. This will be Ms. George-Wilson's fourth term and Mr. Harris' second term as Co-chair. The Co-Chairs are responsible for chairing First Nations Summit meetings as well as the Summit's administration and day-to-day operations.

-30-

The First Nations Summit speaks on behalf of First Nations involved in treaty negotiations in British Columbia. Further background information on the Summit may be found at <a href="http://www.fns.bc.ca">www.fns.bc.ca</a>.

For Further Information:

Colin Braker, First Nations Summit Office: 604.926.9903/Cell: 604.328-4094